Yes, Call Out Failures, But Only to Help Improve

On Friday night, I rewatched The Force Awakens for the first time since seeing it on opening night, around 16 months ago. You can read my extremely unhappy, initial review on oooShinyMovies.

This second viewing was spawned by the disappointment of the underwhelming teaser trailer for The Last Jedi and by happening to spot all the unwatched copies of the movie, at the library.

The second time I watched the movie wasn’t as bad of an experience as the first was. Unfortunately, it wasn’t because I had mistaken some greatness in the movie. It was instead because I didn’t have the shock of such a huge disappointment.

I do understand those whose only reason for liking it was the return of old characters such as Han Solo, Chewbacca, and Princess Leia. I can respect the nostalgia endorphins.

That said, The Force Awakens remains the worst of the now eight Star Wars movies. It’s dozens of plot holes make it a bad film, no matter what galaxy it happens to be about. It is tragic that such a beloved story was tainted by such poor writing. Even worse are those who still defend it, blinded by the name Star Wars.

Such people are what has become wrong with any fandom. The blind, who refuse to consider that there could ever be a flaw in their beloved escape from reality.

I myself would be considered to belong to many fandoms. However, I will call out their failures, just as I would in something I don’t have feelings towards. I do so in hopes that later installments will be improved and not have such struggles.

That’s how we should be about everything in life. If a friend is doing something wrong, we need to let them know. Not in a way meant to belittle them, but in ways that help them improve and grow.

Too often these days people are too afraid to speak and help others. They often seem to only speak bad about something or someone when they are seeking it’s destruction.

My challenge to myself and to all who read this, is to not be negative in attempts to harm. But also to not be afraid to reprimand in hopes of bettering.

Often, without those challenges from friends and loved ones, we fail to grow.

Author: Jonathan D. Sangster

Christian, father, writer, editor, political, Grey Jedi, Browncoat, Whovian, gamer, hiker, foodie, sports fan.

2 thoughts on “Yes, Call Out Failures, But Only to Help Improve”

Leave a Reply

