Little Moment, Big Step

Yesterday morning, something huge happened.

When I got up to take our nine year old to school she had a terrified look on her face.

I asked her what was wrong and she told me that she had killed a spider.

Our nine year old saw a spider in the bathroom and killed it. That may or may not seem like a big moment to you, but for us it was.

Before now she would have most likely woken us up screaming about the spider. You see she has a history of crying upon seeing a spider, screaming for help, or closing a door and pretending the spider doesn’t exist until someone else finds it.

Instead, she took care of it herself and I doubt she even is aware of how big a moment this was.

In a space of heartbeats, when she took care of things for herself, she grew up. Not completely, but she definitely made a jump forward.

If you had told me this would happen, I would not have believed you. I hate to say it, but I didn’t have that kind of faith in her. She’s not usually an independent child, and sometimes struggles to accomplish simple tasks like rinsing her dishes or cleaning up after herself.

This event is causing me to have to rethink, because she showed the initiative to take care of this on her own, without having to be told to do so.

I’m proud of her, so proud.

She doesn’t know it yet, but either today when she’s out of school or tomorrow sometime, I’m going to take her out for a shake, smoothie, ice cream, or something like that to celebrate this moment with her.

Maybe she’ll never remember that day she killed her first spider, and I might not remember what day it happened on, but this is a day that will impact the rest of her life.

Not necessarily in some big way, but as a road sign/footnote that pointed her towards growing up and taking care of herself. It’s the kind of simple thing that tells me that we are raising someone to be able to take care of herself and that she won’t be dependent upon us the rest of her life.

Author: Jonathan D. Sangster

Christian, father, writer, editor, political, Grey Jedi, Browncoat, Whovian, gamer, hiker, foodie, sports fan.

Leave a Reply

